top of page

God so loved the world

The beautiful and simple Gospel message of John is repeated in Chapter 3 in verse 15 and 16 with one word changed. “That whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have eternal life.” verse 15. And “everlasting life” verse 16.


As I contemplate that message and think of the love of God to not only rescue me from perishing, but offer me BOTH eternal life and everlasting life, I am humbled and grateful. But the offer is not to me alone, but to the entire world. He was sent “not to condemn the world” but to save it.


What is this great requirement that I must do? John clearly identifies that for me by saying “whosoever believeth in him”. In verse 18 he reaffirms the requirement, “He that believeth on him is not condemned…”


As we manifest our belief in him and our love to him and our fellow man we are saved and we make the world a better place.


For me, this sacred message seems distorted and marginalized by liturgical and symbolic rites performed in Mormon temples and meeting houses. Instead of focusing on our belief in him, the focus is on our faith in the founders and prophets of the LDS church in instituting or “restoring” these rites and on the strict obedience to gospel laws and commandments in order to “qualify” to receive and make the covenants required. We are taught that without them, we can’t receive all the blessings that await us. That is not the same gospel.


With my friends, I sang this wonderful message that “God So Loved the World”. Please enjoy!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f09Cpxk1Lec&feature=youtu.be

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page